Chair: Anjan Bose, Ph.D., Washington State University, USA

Anjan Bose is a Regents Professor and the Distinguished Professor of Electric Power Engineering at Washington State University in Pullman, Washington, where he also served as the Dean of the College of Engineering & Architecture from 1998 to 2005. He served the US Department of Energy as a Senior Advisor on the electric power grid in the Obama administration. He is a leading researcher on the operation and control of the electric power grid. He has worked in the electric power industry as well as academe for over 40 years. He received his BS, MS and PhD, all in Electrical Engineering, from the Indian Institute of Technology – Kharagpur, University of California – Berkeley and Iowa State University, respectively.

Dr. Bose is a Member of the US National Academy of Engineering, a Foreign Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE). He was the recipient of the Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award, the Third Millenium Medal, and the Herman Halperin Electric Transmission & Distribution Award from the IEEE. He has been recognized by both Iowa State University and the Indian Institute of Technology with their distinguished alumnus awards. He has served on several editorial boards and on many national and international technical committees. He was appointed by the governor to the board of directors of the Washington Technology Center, and by the US Secretary of Energy on the committee to study the 1999 and 2003 power blackouts. He has served on several committees of the US National Academies including those for Engineering Education, Cybersecurity Research, Power Grid Security and America’s Energy Future. He has consulted for many electric power companies and advised government agencies throughout the world.


Joe Chow, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Joe Chow obtained his MS and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He worked in the General Electric power system business before joining Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 1987, where he is Institute Professor, Electrical, Computer, and Systems Engineering. He is currently the campus director of the NSF/DOE Engineering Research Center on Ultra-Wide-Area Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks (CURENT). His research interests include modeling and control of power systems and synchrophasor data analysis. He is a life fellow of IEEE and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering. He is a recipient of the Donald Eckman award from the American Automatic Control Council, the Control Systems Technology Award from the IEEE Control Systems Society, and the Charles Concordia Power System Engineering Award from the IEEE Power and Energy Society.

Lars Nordström, Ph.D., KTH – The Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

Lars Nordström is Professor and Head of department of Electric Power and Energy Systems and deputy dean of the school of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at KTH – the Royal Institute of technology, Stockholm, Sweden. He is the past director of EKC 2 – The Swedish center of excellence in Electric Power Engineering and served as thematic leader for Smart Electric grid at EIT InnoEnergy from 2011 to 2013. In 2014 he was visiting Professor at Washington State University. His present research and teaching involve computational methods applied to power systems including islanding detection, control room decision support and load and generation forecasting. Professor Nordström chair of the board of Boo Energi and a member of the board and advisor to Expektra, a start-up offering AI based software for power market actors. He is a senior member of the IEEE and member of the national committee of CIRED and past national chairman of Cigré Technical committee D2.

Thomas Overbye, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, USA

Thomas J. Overbye is a TEES Eminent Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University (TAMU).  Prior to joining TAMU in January 2017 he was the Fox Family Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He received his BS, MS, and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1983, 1988 and 1991 respectively.  Before starting his academic career he was employed with Madison Gas and Electric Company from 1983 to 1991.  Dr. Overbye is the original developer of PowerWorld Simulator, an innovative, widely used software package for power system analysis and visualization, and a co-founder of PowerWorld Corporation. He is also an author of the widely used Power System Analysis and Design book by Glover, Overbye and Sarma.  He was the recipient of the Alexander Schwarzkopf Prize for Technological Innovation, a University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering Distinguished Achievement Award, the IEEE Power and Energy Society Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award and is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

Vijay Vittal, Ph.D., Arizona State University, USA

Vijay Vittal joined the ASU faculty in 2005. Prior to ASU, he was an Anston Marston Distinguished Professor at Iowa State University’s, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department. In addition, he was a Murray and Ruth Harpole Professor and director of the university’s Electric Power Research Center and site director of the NSF/IUCRC Power System Engineering Research Center (PSERC). Currently, he is the director of PSERC, headquartered at ASU. From 1993 to 1994, he served as the program director of power systems for the NSF Division of Electrical and Communication Systems in Washington, D.C. He was the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Systems from 2005 to 2011. Vittal has published 182 articles in refereed journals, 144 refereed conference proceeding articles, twelve books and book chapters, and 13 research and technical reports.